abbyenfrance

Etsy seller goes verbal

Etsy Post Nine

P1200837

Charles et Charlus.
I moved here to Lille, in Northern France, at the very end of the last century.  My son is a Tourangeau, which means he was born in Tours, in the Loire Valley.  When we moved, his favorite audiobook happened to be Peter Pan, and, in French, ‘Neverland’ translates to ‘Amazing Lille’ (l’île merveilleuse,) so you can probably guess he was pretty excited about the move.  The first thing we did when we got here was enroll him in nursery school.  Being obsessively sick about bags all my life, the first thing I noticed at the school was that all the moms had the same bag https://www.etsy.com/listing/120055035/sale-soft-green-leather-charles-et?ga_search_query=backpack, or else a model of what was obviously the same brand http://www.etsy.com/shop/AbbyinFrance/search?search_query=charlus&order=date_desc&view_type=gallery&ref=shop_search.  I was shy, and so I didn’t ask anyone about her bag.  The brand stamp on the bag was really hard to make out, especially if you didn’t want to look like a hovering, lurking, pickpocket.  I didn’t have internet.  It took me forever to trace the brand to a single small boutique in the old part of Lille.  Then I couldn’t go in, because it is one of those old-school stores where you are not allowed to enter unless you are buying something.  (If you ever go to France, and get a dirty look while browsing in a store, this dumb rule is the reason for it.)  Well, reader, I saved up, and I bought the backpack, in a slightly reddish brown nubuck https://www.etsy.com/listing/123605376/rich-cocoa-brown-nubuck-leather-charles?ga_search_query=charlus. And I remember while I was on vacation in the U.S., someone in a Coach store AND SOMEONE ELSE IN AN ELEVATOR tried to buy it off of me.  These bags are timeless.  Like the original Coach bags, they are meant, style-wise, and quality-wise, to last forever.  My son now reads the Economist, which does not come with a cassette that beeps when it’s time to turn to the next page, but moms in Lille still wear the same bag, or else this one https://www.etsy.com/listing/120964006/ashy-black-brown-leather-charles-et?ga_search_query=charlus.  And I can resell them because a used Charles & Charlus purse can be bought for less, but still has that amazing value and quality you cannot get anywhere else.  And, weirdly, even your most perfect favorite bag is one you will stop wearing eventually, and maybe resell.  I was inspired to write this infomercial, the first time I have ever written about an actual product I sell in my shop, by surfing vintage French bags.  It is my opinion that if a bag wasn’t nice when it was new 25 years ago, it’s not going to be nice now.  Second-rate styling on a bag that was a copy of a more expensive bag doesn’t age well.  The great thing about Vintage should be that it weeds out the less good stuff.  So, Buyer:  please beware.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 15, 2013 by .
